Our Guilt and Jesus’ Prayers for Us


Moses,_Aaron_the_High_Priest_and_King_David_-_Passover_Haggadah

But Jesus the Son of God is our great High Priest who has gone to heaven itself to help us; therefore let us never stop trusting him. This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses since he had the same temptations we do, though he never once gave way to them and sinned.  So let us come boldly to the very throne of God and stay there to receive his mercy and to find grace to help us in our times of need. ~ Hebrews 4:14 – 16 (Living Bible)

In From Shadow to Substance, Roy Hession explains how Jesus intercedes for us in heaven, particularly in light of our guilt, whether real or imagined:

“…the saints are experiencing some sort of guilt in their hearts almost daily… Our hearts are often like a sunlit field of grain on which shadows of clouds are chasing themselves across that otherwise sunny expanse. The area of guilt is Satan’s chosen field of operations. He is called in Scripture the ‘accuser of the brethren, who accuses them before their God day and night’ (Rev. 12:10) — and not only before their God, but to their own hearts as well. By the way he accuses them of their failures and shortcomings, one might almost think that he was a holiness preacher! Nothing of the sort, of course; his purpose is to give the saints an experience of guilt again and who can tell what loss and damage in their daily relationship to God they experience as a result?

“…[Jesus’] intercession for me is that I may know a continual, contemporary salvation… First, I may know a continual cleansing from the guilt and defilement of sin as it may occur. Not only does the blood of Jesus speak for me in heaven, but it cleanses my heart on earth as I am willing to call sin, sin, and to repent, and nothing is a greater inducement to such honesty and brokenness than the knowledge that the worst as well as the least has been anticipated and settled in that precious blood which He presents before the Father.

“This continual salvation also includes something else. Down from my High Priest in heaven comes a continual supply of His own life…

“You and I have … a heavenly High Priest who never ceases to make intercession for us. All the time He is presenting the value of that once-for-all sacrifice. But for Him, I would die in a moment; but if I keep coming to God by Him in my need, He sends His resurrection life down into my heart and I live, ‘yet not I, but Christ lives in me.’ And I find I can live in this sinful world with everything opposing me.”

 NOTE: This quote is from pages 61 – 65 of From Shadow to Substance by Roy Hession. Decades ago, I read (and was blessed) by many books of Roy Hession’s which are now out-of-print. This book takes a closer look at the Book of Hebrews. Mr. Hession is best known for The Calvary Road, which you can read on Gutenberg.org.

public domainI chose this image because Jesus is described in the book of Hebrews as greater than Moses and greater than the High Priest. This Passover Haggadah has drawings of the High Priest, Moses, and King David and is in the public domain.

What do you think?

