The Days of Elijah


Elijah-and-king-ahab

One of my favorite worship songs is “Days of Elijah”.  I really enjoyed reading the composer’s story of how the song came to be in The Story Behind Days of Elijah. In the article, Robin Mark explains what was in his heart when he wrote the words and then adds this  fascinating discussion he had with a  Messianic Jewish brother:

A few years ago I was privileged to be in Israel at Yom Kippur for a celebration with hundreds of Messianic Jews. A very kind, gentle and humorous messianic brother had a bit of fun arguing with me that I, as an Irish Christian, could never have written a song which explores some of the themes that many (non-replacement theology here!) Jewish believers believe are the themes and indications of Christ’s return. The Spirit and Power of Elijah in the Church, The restoration of Israel to righteousness in Christ (David’s fallen tent), The restoration of praise and worship (David’s tent also!) and the unity of the body particularly with a renewed and redeemed Israel under Christ.

For me, I only know what I wrote. I felt prompted by the Holy Spirit. Perhaps it was His desire to say something more than I personally intended and to do more with this song than I first considered.

I hope you’ll take a few minutes to meditate on the words to this powerful praise-and-worship song in this YouTube video and then to write me how God has used these words to speak to you.

NOTES:

What do you think?

